

MINUTES

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

Personnel Services Committee

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · 715-424-6701

Troy Bier, Chair Kathi Stebbins-Hintz Elizabeth St.Myers John Krings, President

December 2, 2024

Location: Board of Education, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

Conference Room A/B

Time: Immediately following the Educational Services Committee meeting, but not before 6:15 p.m.

Committee Members Present: Troy Bier, Elizabeth St. Myers and Kathi Stebbins-Hintz

Others Present: Brian Oswall, Ronald Rasmussen and Steve Hepp

I. Call to Order

Mr. Bier called the meeting to order at 7:40 p.m.

II. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

III. Actionable Items

A. Appointments

PS – 1 Motion by Elizabeth St.Myers, seconded by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz to approve the following professional staff appointment:

Kaitlyn Schooley Location: Grant Elementary

Position: Teacher – School Counselor

Motion carried unanimously.

PS – 2 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve the following support staff appointments:

Mistigue Smithson Location: WRAMS

Position: Special Education Aide

Kathy Hoppmann-Felch Location: Grant Elementary

Position: Noon Duty Aide

Megan Kreuser Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Special Education Aide

Heather Michels Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Special Education Aide

Motion carried unanimously.

B. Resignations

PS – 3 Motion by Elizabeth St.Myers, seconded by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz to approve the following support staff resignations:

Matthias Haschke Location: District

Position: Title VI Coordinator/Native American Liaison

Emily Schwenn Location: Howe Elementary

Position: Behavioral Interventionist

Patti Lang Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Noon Duty Aide

Steven Placek Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Custodian

Cora Buckle Location: Woodside Elementary

Position: Special Education Aide

Candace Duran Location: Mead Elementary

Position: Special Education Aide

Motion carried unanimously.

PS – 4 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve the following professional staff resignation:

Lacey Mancl Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Teacher – Science

Motion carried unanimously.

C. Retirement

PS – 5 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve the following support staff retirements:

Diane Glaza Location: Lincoln High School

Position: Security Aide

Jane Lubeck Location: WRAMS

Position: Secretary

Motion carried unanimously.

D. School Counselor Position

Steve Hepp, Director of Pupil Services, explained to the Committee that adding a school counselor at the secondary level would allow the District to enhance its ability to proactively address students' diverse mental health needs, ensure support for all students and alleviate the workload on current counseling staff, enabling them to dedicate more time to mental health services.

PS – 6 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve hiring a secondary school counselor position to be paid from the School-Based Mental Health Grant. This position will be evaluated for continuation after two years based on effectiveness and available grant funds.

Motion carried unanimously.

E. Speech and Language Assessment Specialist

Mr. Hepp shared that with increasing caseloads, coverage for SLP services is difficult. The addition of a Speech and Language Assessment Specialist would help by working with appropriate staff to complete required evaluations in a timely manner.

PS – 7 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve the hiring of a Speech and Language Assessment Specialist at the rate of \$25.00 an hour for approximately 8 hours per week. This position will be paid using funds from the IDEA Flow-through budget.

Motion carried unanimously.

F. Vaping Prevention and Treatment Initiatives Grant

Brian Oswall, Director of Human Resources, shared with the Committee that Tracy Ginter, Principal at WRAMS, partnered with the Marathon County Health Department during the 2023-2024 school year to help secure the Nicotine Prevention Alliance of Central Wisconsin's grant proposal which focused on vaping prevention and treatment initiatives. This partnership resulted in WRAMS being awarded \$2,400 to facilitate the implementation of a Vaping Prevention and Treatment Initiatives (VPTI) grant.

This grant is time intensive and compensates the facilitator \$1,900 to: attend meetings with the Marathon County Health Department to stay updated on best practices, receive guidance, and discuss program progress, researching and identifying suitable alternative to suspension and citation programs that align with WRAMS' needs and goals, recruiting and training staff members to implement the chosen programs and ensuring that these facilitators have the necessary skills and knowledge to effectively carry out their roles.

PS – 8 Motion by Kathi Stebbins-Hintz, seconded by Elizabeth St.Myers to approve a one-time stipend of \$1,900 for the facilitator of the Vaping Prevention and Treatment Initiatives grant. Funds for the stipend will be paid from the Vaping Prevention and Treatment Initiatives grant.

Motion carried unanimously.

IV. Consent Agenda

Motions: PS – 1 Professional Staff Appointment

PS – 2 Support Staff Appointments
PS – 3 Support Staff Resignations
PS – 4 Professional Staff Resignation
PS – 5 Support Staff Retirements
PS – 6 School Counselor Position

PS – 7 Speech and Language Assessment Specialist PS – 8 Vaping Prevention and Treatment Initiatives Grant

V. Adjournment

Mr. Bier adjourned the meeting at 7:53 p.m.